Prince Alfred College is governed by the Prince Alfred College Council which was established under the Prince Alfred College Incorporation Act 1878 (amended 2010).

The work of the College Council is determined by the requirements of the College Constitution, Common Law, the Prince Alfred College Strategic Plan, the activities and needs of the College and the expectations of the Prince Alfred College community.

The primary responsibilities of the College Council are to oversee the governance and strategic development of Prince Alfred College, monitor and review the College’s operations, finance, building, and risk and compliance obligations.

The College Council comprises seven elected members and two ex-officio members, the Headmaster and the Moderator of The Uniting Church in Australia, Synod of South Australia (or her representative).

College Council positions are as follows:

  • Mr John Keeves, Chairman
  • Mr Richard Hockney, Deputy Chairman
  • Mr David Sanders, Treasurer

Council members include Professor Nigel Bean, Mrs Joanne Fox, Mr David McGown, Ms Amanda McIlroy, Mr Peter Myhill and Mr Bradley Fenner (Headmaster).

Council sub-committees include Finance and Audit, Infrastructure, and Risk and Compliance.

Expressions of interest in serving the College Council should be directed to the Minute Secretary of Council, Sarah-Jane Arnold via:  or by telephone +61 8 8334 1223.

Council Attributes desirable Feb 2014