Aus Day Banner Template

Old Reds recognised in Australia Day Honours

28 January 2021

Congratulations to the seven Old Reds who were recognised in this year’s Australia Day Honours and Awards for their outstanding service and contribution.

In announcing the list the Governor General said, "The individuals we celebrate today come from all parts of our great nation and have served the community in almost every way conceivable. They’re diverse and unique but there are some common characteristics, including selflessness, commitment and dedication."

Mr Gregory Stephen Chappell AO MBE (1963-1965)
For distinguished service to cricket as a leading player, captain, coach and administrator at the elite level, and to a range of charitable foundations

Professor Michael Graham Chapman AM (1965-1966)
For significant service to medical education, and to obstetrics and gynaecology

Dr John Lionel Crompton AM RFD (1952-1964)
For significant service to ophthalmology, and to the community of the Asia-Pacific region

Mr Bruce Fulton McFarlane AM (1961)
For significant service to the community through a range of roles, and to business

Associate Professor Michael Gordon Penniment AM (1968-1979)
For significant service to medicine, and to radiation oncology

Mr Christopher Diener OAM (1955-1959)
For service to people with a disability, and to youth through Scouts

Mr George Roger Wainwright OAM (1957-1961)
For service to veterans

Congratulations to all involved on their outstanding contributions.

Click here for a full list of all 844 recipients.

Greg Chappell Mike Chapman Micahel Penniment Bruce Mc Farlane George Wainwright