Numerical Acumen Aiden Chen 259

APSMO & Numerical Acumen Success

1 December 2023

Mathematics at PAC is an integral part of our core curriculum from Reception to Year 12. In 2023, the College introduced Mathematics as a co-curricular activity, proving to be popular with boys across multiple year levels. This term, we have been celebrating the achievements of some of our Preparatory School mathematics students.

APSMO Achievement - Aidan Chen

Congratulations to Aidan Chen, Year 6, for receiving an Outstanding Achievement award in the Australian Problem Solving Mathematics Olympiad (APSMO). The APSMO is a problem-solving competition run across Australia and New Zealand for Students from Year 5 upwards. Students sit four papers across the year, with each paper consisting of five questions.

This year, Aidan was the first student in PAC’s history to attain a perfect score in the APSMO. Over 35,000 students competed in the APSMO in 2023, and only 227 students achieved a perfect score, placing Aidan in the top 0.63% of students who sat the APSMO. Congratulations Aidan on this outstanding result.

Numerical Acumen Challenge Awards

Numerical Acumen is a game-based, online program that allows students to improve their mental computation skills over an extended period of time. In the first half of the year, many of our Preparatory School students took part in the Numerical Acumen Semester 1 Challenge.

For their efforts, students who participated in the Challenge could be nominated for awards by their classroom teacher, based on great performance, Improvement or Dedication.

In addition, we were proud to acknowledge the boys who received a Director’s Challenge award or an Inspirational award for Performance, Dedication, or Improvement. These boys worked at a level that was well beyond the norm and as such, they provide inspiration to those around them.

Year 3: 

Joseph Huang - Challenge Directors Award for attaining Silver with Honours

Year 5:

Fengshun Zhang - Challenge Directors Award for attaining Silver with Honours

Thomas Dobbins – Inspirational Improvement award

Year 6:

Aidan Chen - Inspirational Performance Award

James Dobbins – Inspirational Performance Award

Yusef Uzman - Inspirational Performance Award

Lucas Clayton - Inspirational Performance Award

Hugo Mittiga – Inspirational Improvement Award

Tom Ciccocioppo – Inspirational Improvement Award

Jack Henderson – Inspirational Dedication Award

George Karas –Inspirational Dedication Award

Congratulations to all of these students.